This is the "Databases by Subject" page of the "NCDS Library Home" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NCDS Library Home  

Last Updated: Jan 27, 2016 URL: http://library.newtoncountryday.org/home Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases by Subject Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Tip

Use the advanced search feature to narrow your focus.  You can often limit to a specific date range, source type, or search field.  This helps you find exactly what you are looking for!

Arts and Culture

Recipes and other culinary information from major cooking and nutritional magazines.
Included also are restaurant reviews and industry information.
      
     

    Biographies

    An authoritative resource for biographies on notable figures in literature, science, history, government, business, art, religion, entertainment and sports.
     

    eBooks

    An online collection of premier reference eBooks, including encyclopedias and specialized sources for multidisciplinary research.
      Minuteman Digital Media Catalog Use your Minuteman Library Card to access thousands of free ebooks.
     

    Encyclopedias

    An authoritative encyclopedia containing both short and book-length articles on every subject.
    The World Book Online is an online encyclopedia with multimedia capability.
     

    General Research

    Includes content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
    Includes material from magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias and other reference material from 1980 - date.
    Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
    Save time and filter your internet searches, find the best of the web here.
    Use your Boston Public Library e-card number to access the thousands of academic and scholarly articles from JSTOR.

     

    Health

    Health Reference Center This invaluable resource provides clear and reliable information on today’s most pressing health topics and key social concerns.
    Health Reference Center Academic Articles from a variety of magazines, plus excerpts from reference books. Material includes a medical dictionary, medical directories, health periodicals, and pamphlets from leading health organizations.
    Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials, including health/medical journals, pamphlets, and health-related videos.
     

    History

       A to Z Maps Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
     American History Spanning more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history. Complete with subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts and timelines.
    Ancient and Medieval History Covering prehistory through the 1500's —ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and Islamic Empire.
    Annals of American History Includes the full text of primary documents in American history, including historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, editorials, and landmark court decisions. This resource also has multimedia files, including hundreds of images and video and audio clips of famous speeches.
    Background Notes These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
    CIA World Fact Book The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

    Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.

    Issues and Controversies Covers in-depth investigations of today's top issues.
    Milestone Documents Contains full-text primary source documents
     Modern World History From the mid-15th century to the present, thousands of biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, and primary source entries combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.
     National Archives
    DocsTeach
    Use the search field above to find written documents, images, maps, charts, graphs, audio and video in our ever-expanding collection that spans the course of American history.
    Information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues, with continuously updated articles, overviews, primary sources, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.
    U.S. Government Use U.S. Government Online to learn about the structure, function, and history of the U.S. government.
    Find contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
    World Atlas **You must logon to use this database in school**
    Search, zoom, copy, and save maps from around the world.
     World Geography and Culture World Geography and Culture Online makes it easy to study all aspects of a country—from its geography and physical features to its government, people, and society.
    World History in Context Find contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.
     

    Literature & Criticism

    Explore books, authors, genres and topics and get recommendations on what to read next. Includes biographical and critical information from Contemporary Authors.
    Find significant published literary criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959.
    Google Books indexes millions of books from the library collections of research institutions like Harvard University, Oxford University, the New York Public Library and many others.
    Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
    Find the information you need on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
     

    Magazines & Newspapers

    Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Subject coverage includes physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more from 1980 - date.
      The Boston Globe Search full text articles from the Boston Globe.
    From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
    News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, humanities, law, literature and art, science, social science, sports, technology, and more.
    Search online newspapers from around the world.
    Search the New York Times online from 1981-the present   
    Search the New York Times online from 1851-1980
    Access a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
     

    Religion

    A specialized database with informative introductory pages focusing on major religions and featuring links to core essays, fact files, timelines, image and video galleries, and more.
     

    Science & Math

     Environmental Studies and Policies Collection This collection contains information on issues such as global warming, climate change, alternative energy, environmental policy and more.
    Free online full-text advanced scientific and medical articles.
    Millions of full-text articles on hundreds of topics from over 200 magazines and academic journals along with thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures, illustrations and links to quality web sites.
    A gateway to government science information provided by U.S. Government science agencies, including research and development    results.
    Online science articles from the American Association for the Advancement of Science
    Science Online offers comprehensive coverage of a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, diagrams, illustrations, images, biographies, experiments, activities, and definitions.
    Today's Science Science news written especially for students.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip